View Full Version : Help me make a melee wild magic sorcerer?

alphashorty1
2016-03-11, 02:27 PM
Okay so, long story short is I'm still relatively new to this stuff. 5e is my first edition. Friend is making a new campaign with a lot of restrictions.

Everyone must be an adolescent wild magic sorcerer. We are all classmates in a school in a world where magic is an every day occurance. We cannot multi class ever. On the other hand he is allowing us to pick a weapon to imbue as our arcane focus so that we can wield one handed weapons and still cast somatic spells.

Given these restrictions, I figured there will be a lot of similarities between the 6 of us and I don't like that. So I've decided to make a tanky melee guy who prefers to only use magic to accentuate his physical prowess... Because after all... What good is magic if everyone can do it?

I've decided to be a mountain dwarf to get the proficiencys up to medium armor. Plan to take the feat for warcasting at 4 and then heavy armor at 7. Until then I'll wear medium armor as I have the max +2 dex in starting stats and use shield frequently. Hes a brewer, background guild artisan in brewing and distilling. Standard dwarf who wants to beat stuff instead of finesse.

Question is, what should I do about the spell point stuff. I was thinking quickened spell is a must, but not sure on the others.

Any spells that should be a must? I'd prefer to have anything that accentuates melee like shocking grasp and blade ward.

Any items I should definitely try to locate? I don't know what items exist in this world yet except like a bag of holding.

It's going to be a challenge and I'd love creative ideas. Just make me hit like a truck, get hit less, and make it look as far from the traditional ranged caster as possible! Let's have fun with this.

ZenBear
2016-03-11, 03:37 PM