PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Modern Call of Cthulhu/Delta Green Campaign Help: Players Play Themselves!

Teonas
2016-03-20, 02:40 PM
Howdy folks!

I've been lurking on the forum for a while and haven't gotten around to posting anything, mostly from a sense that everyone here is way more knowledgeable than I am about all things related to dice-rolling or otherwise tabletop-oriented. :tongue:

I've been DMing in one fashion or another for about eight years (Savage Worlds, D&D, Call of Cthulhu), and I got a request to run a modern-day Lovecraftian horror/conspiracy game from some of my players. I know that Delta Green is effectively modern-day Call of Cthulhu, so I've been looking into that for ideas and inspiration, but another request from my players makes it a little more interesting.

As the title of the thread says, they all want to play themselves in this game, not federal agents or paranormal investigators or anyone with a relationship to the occult (at least in the beginning). I know there are a number of horror games where the characters are the players (Outbreak: Undead comes to mind), but as I was looking into some of the written material for Delta Green it kind of presupposes that you A) Know your way around a firearm; B) Have at least a rudimentary knowledge of Things That Go Bump In The Night; and C) Have access to a support network that gives you missions and material to work with, regardless of its official connections.

I guess I have a few questions for the forum. Has anyone ever run a game like this before? If so, how did it go and what advice would you give? If not, do people think that this would be a good idea or a terrible one? Lastly, any opinions for creating a campaign in which these ordinary folks can investigate horrible and terrifying truths and go mad in the process? I am a big fan of including as many paranoia-inducing elements as possible. :biggrin: