PDA

View Full Version : Critique my Tweaks Part 2 – Moon Druid

mer.c
2016-03-23, 08:34 PM
Welcome to the second edition of Critique my Tweaks! This time, I'm looking at balancing Moon Druid in advance of one of my players picking up the kit for Princes of the Apocalypse. I'm a novice at DMing and at 5e, so I'd love any feedback the good folks at GitP could provide.

My goals are to encourage fun, balanced gameplay without adding too much additional complexity or making broad, sweeping changes to the fundaments of the ruleset. So in general, I prefer to introduce a new mechanic, ability, or tweak instead of rewriting an entire kit.

So, here's what I'm looking at. Also note that with these tweaks, I'd be ruling out Monk Martial Arts/Unarmored Defense/Ki abilities while shapeshifted, so no worries about overpowering Monk/Druid multiclass.

Circle of the Moon

Problem: Actually, there are several. At level 2, Moon Druids are absolute monsters, and can trivialize an encounter and/or other characters' contributions. At level 6, they seem to balance out. Past that point, they get weaker and weaker, until level 20, when they get pretty nuts again.

Alongside the level-to-level imbalance, Moon Druids have a few other troubles in my opinion. Namely, their enhanced wild shape doesn't give them much other than huge gobs of extra HP. The AC is generally pretty awful, the damage isn't very impressive, and you have no intrinsic way punishing your enemies from ignoring you (aside from maybe trying to knock Moonbeam off of you or something). So along with toning down the early-level supremacy, I'd look at giving them some new toys to play with across the board. My hope is that this would give them a smoother power curve that feels good from start to finish.

Tweaks