PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Planning on a 1-20 level campaign.

Alfredo094
2016-03-25, 03:22 PM
So, some backstory. Some friends and I are playing the Tyranny of Dragons campaign (currently level 3), and I'm currently a PC in that one. Problem is, I really like this game, and seeing the DM has gotten me interested in DM'ing my own game (even if I'm a total beginner at this, but all my friends are and we're making it work).

Well, since we get together each 15 days (he gets tired of being the DM so he prefers for it to be unfrequent), I talked to the DM and said that after this campaign was finished and people still wanted to play, I could DM next. Later he said we could run it parallel and play with the people that are available (maybe 3-4 people instead of the 6 we usually play with).

I've read a bit about D&D trying to optimise my character, and I've seen some really interesting house rules on Roll20 on some games, and high-level play seems to be really cool. I was thinking of making some homebrew rules and let them use homebrew classes and stuff and run a whole level 1-20 campaign.

However, as I looked into the official campaign, they never went above level 15, so I thought about strapping a level 15-20 campaign to it (I'm picking Out of the Abyss for 1-15). I couldn't find any campaign on that level, though.

So, the bottom line is, should I adjust the campaign? Maybe look more? Anything I should be considering? Any cool homebrew rules I may be unaware of? Stuff like that.

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: Also I'd like an alternative way of getting stats (not 27-point buy nor rolling 4d6).

Ninja_Prawn
2016-03-25, 03:38 PM