PDA

View Full Version : Can gishes cast spells with twohanded weapons?

magicalmagicman
2016-03-29, 11:10 AM
I mean like, if a gish holds a greatsword, he can let go one hand to cast a spell while holding onto the greatsword with his other hand right?

1. Can gishes cast spells while wielding a two handed weapon?
2. If 1 is true, then what is the advantage of a onehanded sword?

Tiri
2016-03-29, 11:18 AM
I mean like, if a gish holds a greatsword, he can let go one hand to cast a spell while holding onto the greatsword with his other hand right?

1. Can gishes cast spells while wielding a two handed weapon?
2. If 1 is true, then what is the advantage of a onehanded sword?

Yes. He can let go to cast with his hand. The advantage of a one-handed weapon is that the gish can also threaten the area around him while casting. It's not really a significant one once you get to the point where spells begin to outstrip the fighting classes, though.

Hiro
2016-03-29, 11:20 AM
I'm no expert on this, but I'd think a caster could, it the same thing mages whom carry staves work. They let go with one hand to cast.

But in your example- that greatsword would be too much for you to hold in one hand and keep level. You'd have to rest the point on the ground or something and that takes more effort for your char to lift if they got interrupt-attacked while casting.

The advantages are simple 1) personal taste. Some guys/gals just don't like hauling a big awkward slab of steel around.

2) encumbrance, awkwardness and weight- all of these together make greatswords very "trying" to carry around sometimes (like getting stuck in a door cuz the thing is slung over your back wrong or something ad getting pelted by arrows while attempting to correct that.)

3) If you're a gish, there's likely someone else in the party who'd be better served using it instead of you.

4) most gish classes are written/created in a way that compromises. YOu're good at alot of things just not everything.