View Full Version : Rogue archetype: Cultist

2016-04-11, 03:27 AM
It's basically an arcane trickster, but focused on necromancy and conjuration rather than illusion and enchantment.

When you reach 3rd level, you gain the ability to cast spells.

Cantrips. You learn three cantrips: Chill Touch, and two other cantrips of your choice from the wizard spell list. You learn another wizard cantrip of your choice at 10th level.

Spell Slots. The Arcane Trickster Spellcasting table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your spells of 1st level and higher. To cast one of these spells, you must expend a slot of the spell's level or higher. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest.

For example, if you know the 1st-level spell Ray of Sickness and have a 1st-level and a 2nd-level spell slot available, you can cast Ray of Sickness using either slot.

Spells Known of 1st-Level and Higher. You know three 1st-level wizard spells of your choice, two of which you must choose from the necromancy and conjuration spells on the wizard spell list.

The Spells Known column of the Cultist Spellcasting table shows when you learn more wizard spells of 1st level or higher. Each of these spells must be a necromancy or conjuration spell of your choice, and must be of a level for which you have spell slots. For instance, when you reach 7th level in this class, you can learn one new spell of 1st or 2nd level.

The spells you learn at 8th, 14th, and 20th level can come from any school of magic.

Whenever you gain a level in this class, you can replace one of the wizard spells you know with another spell of your choice from the wizard spell list. The new spell must be of a level for which you have spell slots, and it must be an necromancy or conjuration spell, unless you’re replacing the spell you gained at 8th, 14th, or 20th level.

Spellcasting Ability. Intelligence is your spellcasting ability for your wizard spells, since you learn your spells through dedicated study and memorization. You use your Intelligence whenever a spell refers to your spellcasting ability. In addition, you use your Intelligence modifier when setting the saving throw DC for a wizard spell you cast and when making an attack roll with one.

Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Intelligence modifier
Spell attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Intelligence modifier

(I don't know how to post a table, but the spells per day works the same as the arcane tricksters- as you could probably guess.)

At 3rd level, you learn a ritual that creates a magical bond between yourself and a dagger. You perform the ritual over the course of 1 hour, which can be done during a short rest. The weapon must be within your reach throughout the ritual, at the conclusion of which you touch the weapon and forge the bond.

Once you have bonded the athame to yourself, you can use it as an arcane spellcasting focus. If it is on the same plane of existence, you can summon that weapon as a bonus action on your turn, causing it to teleport instantly to your hand.

*Blood Magic- At 9th level, you gain the ability to sacrifice a portion of your life force to regain expended spell slots.
You use your action to inflict a wound upon yourself with your Athame to regain expended spell slots, each spell slot you replenish in this deals an amount of damage to you equal to 5* the spell level. Your maximum hit point value is reduced by the same amount.
The damage is necrotic, and ignores resistance and immunity, and your maximum hit point value returns to normal after you finish a long rest.

*Spectral Rending:
At 13th level when you damage an enemy with your Athame, you can use a bonus action to cast Chill touch with an advantage to the attack roll.

*Dissonant Darkness:
At 17th level, you gain the ability to detach your shadow from your self and animate it as an extension of your will.
Once per day, you can preform a ritual that takes 10 minutes to animate your shadow.
The Shadow acts in its own initiative order, but obeys all of your mental commands.
It has the same stats and abilities as the Shadow on page 269 of the monster manual except for the following changes:
The Shadow's creature type changes from undead to elemental;
The Shadow's strength drain ability is replaced by an attack that deals 2d6=2 damage, if the attack is a critical hit, the target must make a constitution save equal to your spell save dc or be paralyzed until the end of its next turn.

If the Shadow takes damage, you can use your reaction to prevent the damage, if you do, you suffer half the amount of damage the Shadow would have taken.

Alright there it is, my first time doing anything homebrew, let me know what you guys think about the theme and the balance.