PDA

View Full Version : Eldritch Scion vs Bloodrager

Estralita
2016-04-12, 08:07 PM
I love the magus class.A lot. One of my minor goals in gaming is to try out as many of the magus archetypes as I can. And considering that one thing that bugs me about playing one at the moment is the need to prepare all my spells beforehand, Eldritch Scion seemed like an obvious choice.

However, poking around, I've seen mixed reviews, and little actual instruction on how to play an Eldritch Scion, and since I'm relatively new to PF, I'm concerned about putting one together properly. I've also seen a lot of people talking about Bloodragers as being better for the part, but they seem to play pretty different to me. So How do they compare?

For the record, we'd be starting at level 9.

Psyren
2016-04-12, 10:38 PM
They're apples and oranges; go with the one whose playstyle you prefer, there is no clear "better one." The Bloodrager is a specific style of gish - the buff up and smash things kind, as opposed to the swords-and-sorcery-blend kind. Their superior martial chassis (full BAB, bloodline powers, less need for mental stats, and ability to buff for free while entering a bloodrage) make them better suited to that style of play. Magi meanwhile are better spellcasters (5ths and 6ths, more utility things like divinations, more debuffs like stinking cloud/enervation, more blasting spells), and most of their damage comes from spell combat and spellstrike rather than from a buffed physical attack. Against some monsters (e.g. ones with high spell resistance or energy immunity) the bloodrager will shine, but the magus brings more to the table overall with its ability to control the battlefield, deal with ranged foes, deal with swarms etc. This also depends heavily on the spells you choose, the bloodlines you pick (some good ones are worse on the ES due to the need to enter Eldritch Focus to use their powers), the arcana you pick, other archetypes you mix in etc.

Estralita