PDA

View Full Version : Gamer Drama Dealing with character loss...

90sMusic
2016-04-18, 06:39 PM
So... I've been playing a campaign for the past 6 months. The character I made for it I loved and I spent a lot of feats and things to maximize the fluff. It was a really fun roleplaying experience and I looked forward to playing that game every day of the week until it was game day.

Now... My character is dead. And it wasn't even a heroic death or going out in a blaze of glory or anything like that, the whole situation felt very sucky and it's like the DM was just out to murder us today. It had never been like this before. We had gotten into some close scraps before and a couple of characters have died over the past 6 months, but today every one of our characters was killed in the most stupid and senseless way.

We opened up a portal to a kind of alternate dimension where everything was basically the same but everything that used to be good was instead evil. We were put in a battle basically the second we arrived there. Then we managed to sneak around a bit disguised as anti-paladins. Then we had to fight the high cleric of this city who was another mythic boss encounter and we won but just barely. Everyone was out of spells, mythic points, and wounded. We were trying to make plans like where we could hide for the night to rest up and recover, but the DM kept sending enemies to attack us, just while we were standing around talking immediately after a major boss battle. He was putting so much pressure on us and giving us no time to plan or think or do anything except just keep fighting constantly.