PDA

View Full Version : DM Help New Feats proposed by a wizard PC

BurgerBeast
2016-05-01, 05:13 PM
I have a wizard PC who wants to use new, house-ruled feats to either:

(1) be able to cast a bonus-action spell and a non-cantrip spell in one turn.

(2) concentrate on two spells at once.

My initial instinct is simply: No. Both feats are trying to break an intentional design feature of the system, at too cheap a cost (1 feat).

What do you guys think?

Demonic Spoon
2016-05-01, 05:21 PM
Both of those limitations are game mechanics to prevent casters from unloading too much power at once.

Concentration spells are extremely powerful, and it's trivial to come up with a bunch of ways to abuse being able to hold concentration on two things at once.

The bonus action + regular action spell is less of an issue. I can't confidently say it wouldn't be abusable, but two spells per turn is already possible with a fighter dip.

Tallis
2016-05-01, 05:49 PM
I'm still pretty new to 5e but I tend to agree with you that they seem too powerful. Maybe if they had some sort of disadvantage included? Ex.- concentrating on 2 spells gives you disadvantage on concentration checks. Casting 2 spells in a round costs higher level spell slots. Just ideas off the top of my head. Someone better with the numbers should check me on this.

NewDM
2016-05-01, 05:57 PM
Yeah, as others have said, one is already done with the Eldritch Knight class and the other is breaking an intended limit. If you put sever restrictions or penalties on them then it might work:

Focused Spell Casting
Through rigorous training and practice you have mastered the art of focused spell casting. You gain the following benefits:

You can cast a spell with a duration of instantaneous under level 3 as an action and cast a cantrip as a bonus action on your turn. If you do so you must make a concentration saving throw against DC 18. If you fail you lose the action (not the bonus action) but retain the spell slot.