PDA

View Full Version : Designing a whole game from scratch

CrazyCrab
2016-05-04, 06:32 AM
Hi everyone,
for a while now I have always wanted to make an entire RPG system by myself and recently I have gotten quite some time to spare. I have my ideas, systems that I want to replicate somehow and pretty much a solid base.

I have been designing videogames in my spare time for about 8 years now and DMing for around 5, so I feel like I have enough experience to take care care of it. That said, where do I start? I know how to make a video game, but I feel like the process is significantly different, in quite a number of ways...

So, any tips?

Professor Gnoll
2016-05-04, 06:52 AM
If I had to give some advice?
Make it do something that another system doesn't already do. So don't make "D&D, but slightly different mechanics". Give people a reason to play this system over playing another system. Maybe it allows for incredibly fast combat. Maybe it simulates things in excruciating detail, for those who like that. Maybe it invites huge amounts of improvisation for free-form play. Just make it do something that other systems don't.

CrazyCrab
2016-05-04, 07:11 AM
If I had to give some advice?
Make it do something that another system doesn't already do. So don't make "D&D, but slightly different mechanics". Give people a reason to play this system over playing another system. Maybe it allows for incredibly fast combat. Maybe it simulates things in excruciating detail, for those who like that. Maybe it invites huge amounts of improvisation for free-form play. Just make it do something that other systems don't.

Oh, don't worry, naturally I have that in mind.