PDA

View Full Version : DM Help How to write a campaign

Lateral
2016-05-06, 12:26 AM
So I'm about to start running a game. It's not my first time GMing, but it is my first time writing a campaign with a real plot (all the others have been either modules or plotless dungeon crawls). Because of that, I'm not really sure how to go about it; I've got the hook and the introductory portion all written out, I know what the overarching plot threads will be, and I know where I want it to conclude, but I'm not sure how much I should plan out the middle in advance. I mean, I don't want to write too much and risk railroading the PCs, but I want to be prepared enough that the progression feels natural.

So, GMs in the playground, how do you go about writing a campaign? Do you plot it out all in advance, or do you let it develop more naturally? I suspect it varies depending on the type of campaign, so to be clear, this is the kind of campaign with a central plotline and a central set of villains, but in which I expect the players to be coming up with their own plans. In other words, the overall objective and enemies aren't ones that the PCs can ignore, but how they want to pursue them is up to them. For example, the PCs might discover that the kidnapped princess they've been tracking down is being held at Baron von Moustache's castle; they'll have to go there at some point, and there might be a time limit (e.g. she's going to be sacrificed to dark gods at the next full moon), but exactly how to rescue her would be up to them. If they're clever enough to capture Baron von Moustache and interrogate him while they're there, they might be able to discover the secret password to the Vault of Horrors even though I had only intended for them to find that out ten levels later; I'd be perfectly willing to let them try to enter it now, but hopefully they'd realize that they're not nearly strong enough to survive the monsters locked within it.