PDA

View Full Version : Mapping out a Hydroelectric Dam

Octopusapult
2016-05-17, 12:28 AM
I know basically nothing about the insides of a dam. Could anyone help me out here? I just need to know how much space there'll be, and what parts of it are important for the sake of realism. I live in Indiana with practically no bodies of water around so taking a tour is essentially out of the question and most videos online are poor quality.

Mutazoia
2016-05-17, 02:19 AM
Take your pick.... (https://www.google.com/search?q=hydroelectric+power+plant+blueprint&espv=2&biw=1280&bih=923&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjona3dyODMAhXGxYMKHYRoDxEQsAQIGw&dpr=1)

Narrow Century
2016-05-17, 02:20 AM
I'm no expert, but I live in Portland, and there's a bunch of dams around.

It varies pretty widely, partially with size. The Hoover Dam is the most well known, but most of them have an elevation a fraction of the height. Most dams are going to be relatively low to water, with a couple of important external elements. First, there's going to be a system of locks allowing boats to move from one side to the other - assuming there's any river traffic. Second, a lot of dams have a fish ladder, which is more or less a series of artificial waterfalls that allow salmon to move upstream to spawn. Third, there's going to be a lot of infrastructure on the banks near the dam to carry and disburse all the power coming out of it - basically a really big power station, with high tension wires running from the dam to the shore.