PDA

View Full Version : Played 4e, considering going to 5e. Should I?

Necr0mancer
2016-05-19, 04:30 AM
Quick Background: I played 3.5 for a very long time and to this day I still think that it is the best RPG system. Its complex enough that I can feel that my character is different from other characters of the same class, but straightforward enough that once you get the hang of it, you understand it. However, as much as I played it for a very long time a very long time ago, when I started playing D&D again about a year ago, the group I got together with was playing 4e. So, I learned 4e and I found it to be much, much simplier and anything I didn't immediately get, I caught on very quickly. There was some stuff I liked (encounter/daily powers for fighter type classes) and some stuff I didn't like (skill training vs. skill points, encounter/daily powers for every other class, the way magic items work) but I trudged through it and I had a good time more or less.

However, at this point I've made about my 4th character and I'm noticing something that I don't like; leveling up is kind of boring and battles are repetitious. Not getting a new ability every level, is disheartening and even when I do, I've found that it is not always impactful to my character. After I play a character for about 5-6 sessions, combat gets pretty repetitive. Use encounter abilities, then use at-wills. Boss? Use daily abilities, then encounters, then at-wills. (Obviously, this is a generalization, but its how it feels). In 3.5 my spell casters would get a varity of spells to choose from and my spell selection wouldn't have to be the same every day. But I've found that my characters have cast the same ability many many times and ultimately, even when I have totally different characters or try different spells they don't even feel all that different. (Roll to hit, deal some damage, maybe do something tactically interesting for a bit, but it ends rather quickly).