PDA

View Full Version : DM Help I am just simply bad at puzzles

Pavbat666
2016-05-22, 03:11 PM
I am in need of some DM help. You see, I made an adventure, and planned it all out for my group up until they get to lv. 2. However, recently my friend had been asking for me to add more puzzles into my game. I am not very good at this, and I don't want to make some simple puzzle that anyone could solve, because what would its purpose be? However, I don't want it to slow down my game just because it is too hard and the PCs can't figure it out. The other problem is that all the creatures I use wouldn't be exactly capable of creating alaborate puzzles. For example, one adventure is tracking down a gang of thieving lizardmen. They will be hidden behind a waterfall in a cave. The next adventure is a wererat who tries to protect everyone by chaining himself to a tree. The only thing I have thought of is that I haven't found an interesting way for the PCs to track the lizardmen. Can it have something to with that?

Ninja_Prawn
2016-05-22, 03:43 PM
recently my friend had been asking for me to add more puzzles into my game.

Sounds like a recipe for trouble. By their vary nature, puzzles and riddles test the players rather than the characters, which a) stops people from roleplaying and b) means that you can only contribute if you have the right real-life skillset.

Just something to be careful of.

For example, one adventure is tracking down a gang of thieving lizardmen. They will be hidden behind a waterfall in a cave.

I'm sure you can work in some puzzles with a bit of imagination. The first thing that comes to mind here is that the cave used to be occupied by some kind of mage, and they've left puzzle-traps or something that the lizardfolk have retained (possibly they don't even know how to deactivate them).

Lvl 2 Expert
2016-05-22, 03:56 PM