PDA

View Full Version : New Cleric needs some advice! :)

DeeJay1500
2016-05-23, 10:35 AM
Well I am new to playing a spell caster and I have run into an issue with the mechanics of my character. I am a newly level 6 Cleric who took Trickery as his domain. I have read it's not an ideal Domain but given the backstory of my character and our party's rogue it is most fitting.

However, I am feeling as if I am severely underplaying the character in regards to the mechanics of the game and what he is capable of. The background story is quite good between myself and the rogue and I hate that inexperience is causing my character to fall short. Especially now that the party is working through a part of the current campaign that directly deals with my character as well as our rogue.

What would be great, is if anyone would like to discuss some options and strategies to help smooth out the playing of a cleric with me so I can get a better grasp of my characters abilities. Whatever information I can provide to help anyone interested in helping me out is no problem and I hope we can make my character a little more badass and have him take a stronger role in our campaign since his story arc is in the spotlight currently.

Thanks!!!

Shining Wrath
2016-05-23, 10:40 AM
Start here, perhaps? (http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?374604-The-Devout-and-the-Dead-a-guide-to-Clerics)

Your spell slots are probably best spent making other people better in combat. Heal in combat only if someone's down and bleeding out.

Temperjoke
2016-05-23, 10:42 AM
Maybe some more details in what is happening to make you feel like you're falling short? Tell us about your character as well, what you want to happen versus what has been happening, that sort of thing? What sort of equipment do you have, what levels you and your group are, plus what other people do you have in your group?

MrFahrenheit
2016-05-23, 10:51 AM