PDA

View Full Version : D&D 3.5: Ideas on how to introduce and then execute a Mary Sue character

Corgamesh
2016-05-27, 08:15 AM
Hi there Playground!

I just started playing with a new group as the DM. We finished the first session/adventure which was great fun, and are going to soon play the second. I'm starting to plan ahead though - my idea is to run the mostly-newbie group through some one-off adventures which lead them to the beginning of the Red Hand of Doom campaign. Basically I just want to give them some experience, both to their characters and the new players (and make sure that the group doesn't dissolve) before starting the actual campaign.

One idea I had for a adventure was to have them rescue some "legendary hero" -type of NPC (to help with the coming war) who would be described as their "Only Hope" or something. And then making sure that character died before stealing the spotlight from the players.

The point would be to play a reverse DMPC thing on them - making them happy to see that character go, but at the same time scare them with the enemies' capability. Giving them the reins, but making them realize they have to do things without outside help.

Do you think this might be a good idea, or fun for the players?

Secondly, I need some kind of justification to how such a strong character could be killed by the enemy, and how to do it dramatically. My first idea was some kind of Mid-level Fighter (rare enough to be called a hero by the people) get ganked by sneak attacks & disabling spells/magic. But I would love to hear your better ideas for this, and for anything else I mentioned as well :smallsmile:

(We are running a quite light-hearted game in general, but I wouldn't mind some Game-of-Thronesy death scenes)

ILM
2016-05-27, 08:45 AM