PDA

View Full Version : Optimization Frenzy Build Help/Optimization

dnscodcs
2016-05-29, 03:14 AM
Hi there.

Since I'm new to the whole DnD scene I have chosen the path of a bloodthirsty half-orc barb to get things started.

Currently trying to work on a decent Frenzy build I wanted to see how mine holds up and what the more experienced players among you would add/subtract from it to optimize it further.

I've only thought ahead to PC lv 20 so far, with very little thought spend towards epic lvls except for the fact that I don't want to get stuck with exp penalties.

The build consists of Barb 1/Fighter 8/Frenzy 10 with me searching for one more PrC that I can use for PC lv 20. Any idea which one would fit here?

Feats I use are the standard Power Atk/Cleave/Int + Des Rage required for Frenzy on top of some pretty cookie cutter stuff like Leap Attack, Improved bull + Shock Trooper and Extra Rage to make up for the additional rages lost from not leveling barb.

On top of that I decided to go with the alternative Resolute fighter feat in place of the Endurance + Steadfast determination combo that most people use to get rid of their frenzy after the fight ends.

This leaves me with 3 open standard feats from PC lv 12 onwards.

I have thought long and hard about going with a more defensive setup that consists of taking Endurance, Iron will and Indomitable Soul for my last 3 feats but I believe that to be a bit overkill to just get out of a frenzy.

With Class base saves, Resolute and the +2 bonus to Will from Raging I gain a ~ +16 bonus to will saves at PC lv 20 which is high enough IMO.

But the thing is I can't really find any decent offensive ones, at least not the ones that you can achieve by spending 3 feats.

Greater Cleave seems to be an obvious choice on the aggressive path but what else? Any recommendations would be highly appreciated.

For a more detailed look at my planned leveling order check this out:

pc lv 1: barb lv 1

feat: int rage