PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Player Race: Mender (PEACH)

Madfellow
2016-05-30, 09:12 AM
Hey, all. This is actually my very first time creating a homebrew for 5th edition, which seems crazy to me based on how long I've been following and using the system.

Anyway, this idea came about as a product of the ACKS (Adventurer Conqueror King System) campaign that I've been playing in for about two years now. Generally speaking, I'm not a fan of the system, but it does have a few golden nuggets. One of those is that spellcasters that make it to level 11 automatically learn how to create golems and other constructs, and are given a fair bit of leeway to create whatever kind of automaton they might want or need to. I was having a hard time getting invested in the campaign, so my DM encouraged me to come up with some kind of long-term plan for my character (a cleric, btw) to work toward. So I perused the books a bit, found the golem creation rules, and thought to myself, "Okay, what would my character do with these?"

Without further ado, I present the menders:

Mender
“We are the product of a broken world. By our hands, it will be made whole again.”

There are many who would have called the creation of the menders a fool’s endeavor, and some would even have called it madness. But their creator, Bishop Garret, would not be deterred. He believed he could fix the world’s problems, heal the sick, and bring peace to those living in strife. After all, is that not the sworn duty of all clergymen? But he was but one man, and even with his many followers, he could not reach every ailing soul. What then could he do?