PDA

View Full Version : Singing Voice Problem

Pavbat666
2016-06-12, 09:42 PM
So this is awfully weird, but I wanted to ask a question about my singing. I am 13 years of age, and I mean this doesn't really fit into these forums, but I feel like I have a problem with my singing voice. By the way, I am also a boy, in case you were wondering. You see, I sing really high for my age, and gender, and I can't at all hit low notes well without REALLY, and I mean REALLY straining myself. People my age of my gender all sing lower than me, and many people tell me its just puberty, and everyone changes at different times. This isn't really comforting, and it bothers me. I can sing way higher than all the other boys though, even ones that are younger than me, and I can even outsing some alto girls. Do I have a naturally high voice, and will it go away during puberty. I am not an expert on music, but I have done some research on voice types, but it says that my voice will change, and its too early to find my voice type. Is there something besides puberty? Can I grow up to be a tenor or countertenor, or can my voice change so much that I could even end up as a bass? Any more knowledge on voice types would be greatly appreciated, and if anyone could shed some light on the whole puberty thing. Also, once again, I am far from an expert, and this is why I am asking so many questions.

Thanks in Advance!

Kislath
2016-06-12, 11:31 PM
I don't think you'll ever be a bass. You're a tenor. You might wind up a barritone someday.

It's perfectly fine to be a tenor. Heck, they used to castrate guys to keep them tenors.
In fact, if you should become a barritone, you'll find yourself always missing not being able to hit the high notes anymore.

I was a tenor. I tried & tried to stay one, but I wound up a barritone.