PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Putting together Illithid relatives for 5e, want to run some samples by for critique.

SaintRidley
2016-06-15, 11:20 PM
Hi everybody. So I've been tinkering around with 5e monster building and want to run some of the creations by other people. I've been a big fan of Illithids ever since I started playing D&D, so my big aim right now is to update a large number of old Illithid-related creatures from AD&D and 3.5 to 5e. And I figured I'd start with one favorite, originally published in Dragon #337: The Brainstealer Dragon.

I'm just going to run the Adult stage by you, but it's more or less the same as the other stages (the Young and Wyrmling stages lacking the legendary actions), so it should be a good gauge overall.

The wings of this beast are thin, membranous folds. The scales glisten with a slimy sheen. At the end of the neck are four tentacles instead of a head, and two cloudy white orbs at the base of the tentacles are all that indicate the creature ever had eyes.

Illithids are known for experimenting with ceremorphosis, and what happens when an Illithid tadpole is put into a nonhumanoid brain can be absolutely terrifying. Few things are as terrifying as what happens should a dragon be captured and successfully ceremorphosed.

I give you the Adult Brainstealer Dragon:

http://i1043.photobucket.com/albums/b435/SaintDepravity/Adult%20Brainstealer.jpg

Thoughts and suggestions appreciated. Your feedback will make me better at making 5e monsters.

One thing I want to know - should I tweak the legendary Dominate and make it more explicit that it can affect non-humanoids?

manny2510
2016-06-16, 02:41 AM
Tentacle has too low of a bonus, that dex stat is too low, as a dragon we need a set of optional lair actions, add immunity to charm and maybe enchantments in general, and change type to monstrosity (aberration, dragon), but the last one is really trivial.

Markoff Chainey
2016-06-16, 03:19 AM