PDA

View Full Version : DM Help High Level Enemies and How they Protect against Spells

BurgerBeast
2016-06-19, 03:25 PM
So, I'm not very experienced as high-level DM. My experiences as a mid-level DM (5-9ish) have taught me that (1) I am not very familiar with the higher-level spells and (2) I am not very good at playing high level enemies optimally.

Most of my "big bads" do things during play that, in hindsight, are just stupid. For example I once had the PCs fight a black dragon in its lair, and they killed it. Later, I realized that I made its lair in a cavern with only one real exit. This is obviously just stupid, and I'll never make that mistake again. But, like most things in life, I had to learn the hard way. If the experience of the GiTP posters can save me the hard lessons, then that would be great.

Can you give me some specific examples of

(1) mundane methods that any high level enemy might use to protect themselves and their items

(2) magical safeguards that high-level villains might use to protect their treasure hoards or their important items (such s spell books)?

(3) mundane or magical means of escape from PCs. This seems particularly hard, not just for me but for all of the DMs in my group. It seems that every big bad gets lock down and killed, regardless of plans for escape. I'm at the point now where I think I need to have a deadly encounter, plus a big bad, and the big bad will have to flee on about round 2 in order to avoid getting counter-spelled and locked down and prevented from retreating.

RickAllison
2016-06-19, 03:43 PM
Secret tunnels are great combined with minion reinforcements. The little guys charge in, shields erected and arrows flying, and the boss flees. The PCs win the day, but the guy can antagonize them again.

Contingency+Teleport is also a great thing for survival, triggered on being knocked unconscious. A magic item could do the trick. Glyphs of Warding work just as well, and prevent the PCs from taking it.