PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Custom rule set to brutally murder/challenger your PC's.

p_johnston
2016-06-20, 09:42 PM
Hey all I've been running a 5e game for a couple months now with a new custom rule set, tweaking it as I go. I figured I'd post the rules changes here to see what the playground thought of them. Also any constructive suggestions would be welcome. If anyone has any question feel free to ask.

https://1drv.ms/w/s!Ah1xkdAG-Z8vgUKMFX38wmh9AxCF

1) I straight up stole the Dragon Dice idea from a dragon age game we tried for a couple of sessions. I liked the rule and not the setting.
2) I also adjust each monster to have vitality instead of HP. I also usually knock of a couple of hit die from their health also. I figured that on average you want monsters to have vitality equal to .6 of their old HP.
3) The injury/vitality system and the First part of the skills section contain the bulk of the changes.

Final Hyena
2016-06-21, 09:26 AM
At level 9 you can use a 9th slot? That's slightly broken.
Knocking out is incredibly strong, there is already a system for it, (PHB page 198).
Also if monsters can't get injuries than the injury table severely screws over fighters/monks.

sengmeng
2016-06-21, 11:44 AM
Your typo suggests that you intend to put the PCs through a space shuttle accident.

p_johnston
2016-06-21, 05:50 PM
The spell point system is actually just straight out of the DM's guide. It really should be in two tables one for spell cost and one for Points per level. I'll see about fixing it. Also it's worth noting the verbal component part is purely a product of the campaign I'm currently running. I made it to be a quirk of that particular world.

As for knocking Out the current system is any melee attack can knock someone out instead of killing them. That seemed really weird to me so I turned it to disadvantage in order to make it harder.