PDA

View Full Version : Multiclassing

Ohdin
2016-06-22, 04:27 AM
Hey guys I'm new to 5e. I want to multi class druid with rouge. What would be the Pros and Cons of each. I have to follow AL rules. Here is what I have right now:
Race: Wood Elf
Str: 8
Dex: 14 (+2)
Con: 10
Int: 14
Wis: 16 (+1)
Cha: 13
I'm also thinking about lvling rouge to get arcane trickster. But should I lvl rouge first or druid?

JellyPooga
2016-06-22, 04:45 AM
Rogue is a great MC for Druid (well, it's a great dip for anyone, IMO, but that's another story!).

Expertise is something you'll need to make some choices about;
- in Animal Handling, Nature and Survival you become a *true* master of the wilds.
- in Athletics, Acrobatics, Perception and Stealth you're a Wild Shaping master of disguise, scouting and physical challenges.
- in other skills, you can introduce other aspects to your character and make them worthwhile (Arcana and Religion for a scholar, perhaps? Or Sleight of Hand and Deception for a charlatan?). You've set up your mental stats to make these non-Class aspects totally viable.

- I would recommend Starting as a Druid at level 1, both because Wis Saves > Dex Saves and because of fluff/backstory.
- Go straight for Moon Druid 2, for Wild-Shaping shenanigans, without doubt.
- At that point, I'd dip my first level of Rogue, for Expertise and the extra Skill Proficiency. Your character concept is by-and-large now fully established.
- Druid 3/Rogue 1, for 2nd level spells, should now be a priority.
- After that I'd probably spring for Druid 3/Rogue 6; your Wild Shape doesn't improve significantly after 2nd level, but Cunning Action, Uncanny Dodge and more Expertise, not to mention Archetype features, are all solid gold. By going Arcane Trickster, at Character Level 9 you'll be casting 3rd level spells; not great, but not too shabby either.