PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Please help me justify these plot points!

Corinath
2016-06-25, 10:27 PM
Hey everyone!

So I'm running my first campaign as a DM. I'm a writer in real life, so rather than use a module, I've picked particularly difficult story lines based on what my party members established as individual goals. There are a few things I'm having issues justifying with in-game logic, and would love your advice on.

1) I have a character seeking to resurrect an NPC ala True Resurrection. Unbeknownst to him, said NPC is, and has been, alive for a long time. The "deceased" character was resurrected/captured/controlled (any combination of these things) by the being my player thought killed them. The "deceased" NPC now currently has no memories of their old life. This character will wind up being a villain and possibly will rediscover their previous life in the process. Right now all I have is a catchall "they were brainwashed be the being that you think killed them", but this feels like a cop out and decidedly not DND/Fantasy in style.

2) I have another party member seeking to discover a lost relative. This party member is the stereotypical only evil character in a party of good aligned characters. I've foreshadowed that the party will eventually fight a terrasque, which most everyone would do willingly when the threat becomes global (It isn't yet). Except her, as she's neutral evil. I would love to tie in the lost relative to this terrasque. Is there any precedent for making an NPC in a state of stasis while somehow stuck inside a terrasque? Ala Jonah and the Whale, but unconscious? Magical stasis? Soul stone? Something like that?

3) If there were a chromatic dragon that you would expect would work to harbor the end of the world, what color dragon would it be? Simple right? I can't figure out if one would be more likely than the other based on 5e MM descriptions.

Thank you!

Envyus
2016-06-25, 10:47 PM