View Full Version : 3rd Ed No Sleep

Rachko
2016-06-26, 04:57 AM
Hey guys, I'm relatively new to the 3rd ed and I was wondering if there's a quick way of removing the need for sleep? I do remember reading something years ago, when I was maybe 13 and went through my big brother's character sheet and he said something about his or his friends' character not having to sleep. Is there such a thing? It's quite integral for my master plan.

Also, this is my first post so hopfully it's in the right place.
Thanks!

Troacctid
2016-06-26, 05:06 AM
Usually it's a racial ability. Warforged have no need for sleep, for example, nor do non-native outsiders like neraphim.

Venger
2016-06-26, 05:38 AM
Hey guys, I'm relatively new to the 3rd ed and I was wondering if there's a quick way of removing the need for sleep? I do remember reading something years ago, when I was maybe 13 and went through my big brother's character sheet and he said something about his or his friends' character not having to sleep. Is there such a thing? It's quite integral for my master plan.

Also, this is my first post so hopfully it's in the right place.
Thanks!

constructs, elementals, oozes, non-native outsiders, plants, and undead do not require sleep.

you can also obviate the need for sleep with the wakeful mind graft located on page 158 of faiths of eberron.

but even if none of those are viable for your character build, it's not a big deal: unless your guy casts spells, there's not actually a penalty for never sleeping.

what exactly is your master plan, out of idle curiosity.

Shpadoinkle
2016-06-26, 05:49 AM
I don't know if it's explicitly stated anywhere, but I'm pretty sure going without sleep should make you exhausted.

Of course, exhaustion can be removed with a Lesser Restoration spell.

Necroticplague
2016-06-26, 07:13 AM
Elves also don't need to sleep.

Faily
2016-06-26, 07:36 AM
Elves also don't need to sleep.