PDA

View Full Version : Why do Tongue of the Sun and Moon & Timeless Body still exist?

gkathellar
2016-07-18, 08:19 AM
Seriously, though, why are they still wasting ink on these "abilities?"

I'm pretty new to 5E, and there are a lot of things about its monk that I like. I like some of these things enough that I can ignore a 1st-level monk's lack of meaningful class features, and the monk's general inability to grapple despite being a martial arts guy.

But every time I look at the monk's 13th and 15th levels, I start shaking (hyperbole) with anger (not hyperbole). It would almost be less insulting for the levels to be 100% dead, rather than becoming a polyglot at the same level that a bard learns to become ethereal. Hell, it's somehow worse than it was in 3E - at least there, you could talk to squirrels or whatever.

And since I can't find rules for aging, I'm not even sure what Timeless Body is even supposed to do, if anything.

Is there something I'm missing here?

hymer
2016-07-18, 08:41 AM
The abilities you refer to are so-called 'ribbons'. You'll find them in backgrounds, in races, in spells, and in class abilities. They are (intentionally) more fluff than crunch. They affect your interaction with the narrative, give your class some definition, but have little impact on your ability to beat people up.

Sir_Leorik
2016-07-18, 08:44 AM
And since I can't find rules for aging, I'm not even sure what Timeless Body is even supposed to do, if anything.

Protect the monk from ghosts and curses that age characters.

smcmike
2016-07-18, 08:50 AM
Of all the things to complain about....

gkathellar
2016-07-18, 08:59 AM
The abilities you refer to are so-called 'ribbons'. You'll find them in backgrounds, in races, in spells, and in class abilities. They are (intentionally) more fluff than crunch. They affect your interaction with the narrative, give your class some definition, but have little impact on your ability to beat people up.