PDA

View Full Version : Casting as a SnS caster.

Larpus
2016-07-18, 11:14 AM
I apologize if this has been asked and answered before, a quick search didn't give me a solid answer.

I also apologize if I missed some rather obvious RAW bit, it is my first time with 5e and not all the rules have stuck to my mind quite yet.

I plan to play an Axe and Shield Cleric for an upcoming adventure; however I have stumbled on the rules for somatic components of a spell.

I am aware of the rather liberal interpretation that by welding my divine focus onto my shield could lead to my whole shield being a focus and, as such, allowing me to use the shield hand for somatic components while still holding my weapon; however quite honestly it makes little sense, it a bit liberal even for my tastes and I plainly don't see it flying at the table.

The obvious answer is that I'd need to grab War Caster for that, but, as a dwarf that won't be happening until level 4.

Am I screwed needing to waste an action every round to sheath/unsheath my weapon every round I want to cast (especially if needed in melee) or am I missing some piece of the rules?

If I am indeed screwed, then it seems like a better idea to merely go two-handed and one-hand as needed (it's still just a couple of free actions, right?).

Fflewddur Fflam
2016-07-18, 11:24 AM
Am I screwed needing to waste an action every round to sheath/unsheath my weapon every round I want to cast (especially if needed in melee) or am I missing some piece of the rules?