PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinder The BFS User

PapaQuackers
2016-07-19, 07:38 PM
This is my first attempt at a Homebrew class and it's based on using a really big sword. It combines swift strikes, no armor, leaping around, and upgrading your weapon using an essence system that you garner charges of by slaying an enemy. I would love all the feedback I can get.

This is the class-
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1b-gvggCppaJPnpFOa1BGO3oxcMFdp-kyL306obHFkko/pub

This is the essence system-
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1t6hmO8kZfQHxFwlu9A7tryS7gtY4BetqRDD1EVjnYAQ/pub

PapaQuackers
2016-07-21, 12:33 PM
I'm gonna bump this because I still really want some feedback.

1pwny
2016-07-22, 12:32 PM
Generally, it's bad practice to bump your own threads, lol.

It's a decent melee class. It also fits your typical 2-handed sword Beserker class you'll see in MMOs.

So, a few critiques - what does Caster do? It gives the sword spell resistance and indestructibility, right? It's the kind of thing that's either completely necessary or 100% required, depending on the DM.

If, however, you wanted to build in a class ability to allow the player to block things with the flat of the BFS (at the cost of the sword taking damage, obviously), then it would make more sense.

The only real "issue" I see here is that your class falls off just about where every other D&D melee class does. At high levels, casters are going to be sitting in the air, shooting down fireballs, and there'll be a hidden archer that's completely undetectable sniping from the ground. The BFS doesn't have much utility to counter that.

That's generally why I try to avoid making "ME SMASH THING!" classes now, because it's rare that they'll see real play.

PapaQuackers
2016-07-22, 02:46 PM