PDA

View Full Version : Something has gone horribly wrong while statting an epic level monster

Albions_Angel
2016-07-26, 04:23 AM
Hi all

Um... I am doing something wrong. My epic level monster is looking like something a party of level 10s could take down with ease.

I have never done anything like this before, and I asked a lot of questions yesterday, so I turned to reddit and I am now doubting their advice.

At the moment, I am just trying to get a handle on its stats. Including what items it has. Reddit suggested I build a level 30 char, and use the 4,300,000 gp guideline in the DMG to buy items. Now, granted the charactar is going to mostly be a caster, but she is weak as all hell.

The initial 32 pt buy gives me

Mad I know, but what can you do. Then by level 30, thats 7 stat improvements. So...

which I round off with 4 +8 items and a +6 item (ok, can we just hold for a moment and notice that the +6 to +8 difference is 6 HUNDRED THOUSAND GP?!), which gives a final of

and a final HP of 225 (30d6 + 30*4)

Thats the stats of a dragon 10 LEVELS LOWER! A dragon that already casts as a level 20 sorc. A dragon that isnt built with a 32 pt buy, but a much lower buy. Sure, I still have nearly half my cash left, but I havnt given her a weapon or armour bonus, magic items, anything.

What is effectively a level 30 character does not seem like a CR 30 encounter. Not in the slightest. At least, stats wise. Sure, if I make her a sorc or Wiz she will literally destroy worlds, but a level 12 with the right buffs can level her in ONE ROUND.

It just doesnt seem right. I am doing something wrong.

Please help

D.M.Hentchel
2016-07-26, 04:32 AM
Don't forget tomes to buff all the stats by 5.

Epic encounters get explosive fast. Consider contingent Revivifies and Heal to up the durability.

Seppo87
2016-07-26, 04:38 AM
Dude, casters HAVE low stats, that's old news.

Have the guy be properly buffed and use spells, spells are the real sorce of power for this type of enemy