PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinder Bard Build Assistance

Silent Musician
2016-07-26, 10:34 PM
I'm currently creating a bard character who isn't a musician, but is an accountant/ lawyer. We needed a magic user for my group and decided to go this route since wizards aren't allowed in our campaign by the DM. The group consists of a elemental monk (strength based not magic based), a rogue alchemist, and an investigator sort of character with an animal. So I'm going to be their magic cornerstone, and likely face.

I was thinking of going longbow and focusing on a support/ caster build, so I can use some assistance in this department, such as what feats or spells to get, and what items to buy. I was wondering if a wand caster kind of build would work with a handy hankersack to draw them from.

He's going to be level 7.

Kelvarius
2016-07-26, 10:44 PM
I'm no expert on Bards, so I'll leave specifics to the more knowledgeable.

But what I can say is that the Sublime Chord is the Prestige Class for you. 9th level spellcasting for a Bard. It's in Complete Arcane. It's pretty much the go to Bard Prestige Class, from my understanding.

Troacctid
2016-07-26, 10:49 PM
Well, for a nonmusical bard, I usually go with the Archaeologist archetype, although if there's already a rogue in the party, you might be doubling up a little on some of the abilities.

Silent Musician
2016-07-26, 11:05 PM
I'm no expert on Bards, so I'll leave specifics to the more knowledgeable.

But what I can say is that the Sublime Chord is the Prestige Class for you. 9th level spellcasting for a Bard. It's in Complete Arcane. It's pretty much the go to Bard Prestige Class, from my understanding.
That doesn't seem to be a Pathfinder class. Looks like a DnD one

@Troacctid: Yeah I don't want to double up on any rogues. My DM recommended we really needed a magic user since we're getting higher in levels. I originally had a cleric but he's awol right now, so this character is going to look for him.

Topaz