PDA

View Full Version : High Level Play- Lack of Damage Scaling/Sluggfest Query

Haldir
2016-08-03, 01:21 AM
I have recently come out of retirement for a 5e VOIP game using roll20. I am a veteran and longtime fan of 3.5, and I humbly entreat the Playground for its opinion on the lack of damage scaling compared to HP scaling.

The 5e system very much lacks options for damage to increase, other than on spells and classes that grant extra attacks. Yet health still scales very much with levels. I'm running a sharpshooter cleric who pumped Dex and Wis, and for this first game I was overwhelmingly useful to the party.

Is this going to fall off? Is the constant added hitdice going to turn the game into a sluggfest where I am pounding out attack roll after attack roll just to knock off minions? The character is designed to eventually transition into a primary caster, but I still worry about the dynamics of the game being... let's say... tedious for attacking characters who rely on their weapons.

Ninja_Prawn
2016-08-03, 05:53 AM
other than on spells and classes that grant extra attacks.

...So, everyone? It's also worth bearing in mind that monster AC doesn't really scale - at high levels you should be hitting a lot more often.

I'm running a sharpshooter cleric who pumped Dex and Wis, and for this first game I was overwhelmingly useful to the party.

Is this going to fall off?

Probably a bit. I've never played at high level, but cleric is not supposed to be king of DPR and there should come a point where the 'patches' that keep you competitive (such as sharpshooter) start to run out. I am under the impression that fighters and warlocks are supposed to provide the best at-will DPR at very high levels.

MrFahrenheit
2016-08-03, 06:59 AM
I have recently come out of retirement for a 5e VOIP game using roll20. I am a veteran and longtime fan of 3.5, and I humbly entreat the Playground for its opinion on the lack of damage scaling compared to HP scaling.