PDA

View Full Version : 3rd Ed What options are available for long distance communications in 3.5?

phobiaz
2016-08-08, 01:05 PM
Specifically, I'm playing in a campaign that allows us to create our own businesses, which -depending on level of creativity- can yield large amounts of profit and can greatly impact the world(s) we play in.

I decided to attempt to create an international form of communication (i.e. cell phones), but I'm relatively new to D&D and am trying to figure out the most efficient and profitable way to go about it.

A friend suggested that the best course of action would be finding someone that can cast a permanently heightened, extended width, extended length message spell into the communication device. Any other ideas that we might be overlooking? Thanks in advance for your suggestions. :)

Kaje
2016-08-08, 01:47 PM
Long line of commoners passing notes.

2016-08-08, 01:56 PM
Sending Stones (MIC, IIRC) are gonna be your best bet, probably, although that only allows communication between two specific people; for a more general solution, a custom item allowing you to cast Sending at-will to anybody would cost 81000 or so, although personally I think you could convince your DM to lower the gp cost for a magic item that's essentially a pager.

phobiaz
2016-08-08, 02:20 PM

I can't believe I never considered this! XD Haha.

Sending Stones (MIC, IIRC) are gonna be your best bet, probably, although that only allows communication between two specific people; for a more general solution, a custom item allowing you to cast Sending at-will to anybody would cost 81000 or so, although personally I think you could convince your DM to lower the gp cost for a magic item that's essentially a pager.

Excellent idea! I'll talk to my DM about it. Thanks for the input. :)

Niwrad
2016-08-08, 04:08 PM
Two other useful items that might be useful.