PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Home Rule balancing question: Making Martial Classes Matter

Pleh
2016-08-23, 11:07 AM
I'm very new to optimizing builds, but recently it's been made clear to me that most martial builds that want to stay seriously competitive are given the recommended 1 level dip into Barbarian Spirit Lion Totem ACF to get the monstrous Pounce ability.

It kept coming up as the way to go for a number of different builds I was researching, and it got me to feeling bad as a GM that my martial players may be so handicapped in building melee-ers that are both mechanically effective while also being stylistically diverse.

As such I have developed the desire to build a house rule for my games (3.5 ed) that makes Pounce into a feat that is readily accessible to low level players (who may not want to research all the splatbooks or the internet to build an effective melee character).

So here was my idea:

Blitzkrieg
Your weapon is like an extension of yourself, allowing you to attack more aggressively.
Prerequisites: Dexterity 13, Power Attack
Benefit: When you make a charge, you can follow it with a full attack.
Special: A fighter may select Blitzkrieg as one of his fighter bonus feats.

I liked this idea because it felt both mechanically balanced (in my mind) and it made fluff sense as well.

It makes sense to stack such an aggressive maneuver onto Power Attack, making it a bit costly to TWF builds, but not unattainable. The basic idea behind Pounce was that certain monsters, those that are cat-like in reflexes, could use all of their natural attacks at the end of a charge. Certainly a martial combatant familiar enough with their weapon (like it was an extension of themselves) could learn to do the same thing if they specifically trained for this kind of "Lightning war" assault tactics.