PDA

View Full Version : Is The Beast Master Weak?

PapaQuackers
2016-09-18, 05:37 PM
Hi guys, im pretty new to running 5e but ive noticed that the beast master ranger in our group seemsvastly inferior to the other players and even the other ranger archetype. I onlyhave the PHB and MM so maybe the DMG has something Im missing

BW022
2016-09-18, 05:43 PM
Hi guys, im pretty new to running 5e but ive noticed that the beast master ranger in our group seemsvastly inferior to the other players and even the other ranger archetype. I onlyhave the PHB and MM so maybe the DMG has something Im missing

That appears to be the general take. Mechanically it, and the ranger in general, appear weak, especially at higher levels. The animal companion doesn't really scale well and having to give up your actions to get it to attack is extremely weak. A druid at 5th-level can easily summon animals vastly stronger than the animal companion.

Of course... it depends upon the DM and campaign. In a wilderness based campaign with lots of travel, tracking, and against the ranger's favorite enemies... plus roleplaying the animal companion fairly well (giving it lots of checks, tracking assists, etc.) it could be alright. However, in standard modules and adventures -- cities, dungeons, etc. -- the class would appear to under perform.

Boci
2016-09-18, 05:51 PM
I heard that its fine, they get 3 attacks to a hunter rangers 2 (although the hiunter ranger has some options for bonus attacks). The bigger problem is how to fluff the animal companion needing to be told to attack for levels 3 and 4 (until the ranger gains extra attack). You tell the wolf to attack the ogre three rounds in a row, then on the 4th round you attack and the wolf sits there going "master didn't tell me to do anything, so I'm going to spend my turn sniffing this patch of grass".

TheTeaMustFlow
2016-09-18, 06:04 PM