PDA

View Full Version : Maximum HP leveling question

KittenEV
2016-10-08, 03:23 AM
Hi, I'm very very very new to D&D. I just joined my first campaign with a group of friends over the summer, but I'm really confused about how to calculate maximum HP when you level up a character.

My DM isn't making us roll for HP each level so I don't think we're using that method and I don't remember my HP from my previous levels.

I'm a Wood Elf Monk, level 5 now and my max HP is 34, but I don't think that's right. That's the number my DM gave me when I asked. (My constitution modifier is +2 if that helps)

I put in my character into the fifth edition app, but that's given me completely different numbers and I don't how it calculates its HP per level.

This is the numbers it gave me for HP per level:

Level 1 - 10
Level 2 - 17
Level 3 - 24
Level 4 - 39
Level 5 - 46

And I also took the feat Tough at level 4, but I don't know how to calculate that either for future levels. Can someone please lay out straight this barrel of snakes for me? It's all very confusing :smalleek:

djreynolds
2016-10-08, 03:30 AM
You add simply plus 2 per level for toughness, and for every 2 points in constitution you would add +1 for every level. I prefer buffing con, as it also increases your saving throws

pwykersotz
2016-10-08, 03:39 AM
A Monk uses a d8 for his hit die. That means, if you aren't rolling for hit points, you get 5hp per level. The exception is level 1 when you get the maximum of 8. This is a total of 28hp at level 5.

Then you add your Con modifier to the HP at each level. It's retroactive, so if your Con increases later your hit points from previous levels go up too. A +2 modifier is 2 extra HP per level, so that's +10, for a new total of 38.

The Tough feat adds +2 HP at each level as well. This is an additional 10 HP at level 5, which brings your new total to 48 HP.