PDA

View Full Version : AL legal melee caster

Chewychunga
2016-10-19, 03:15 AM
Looking for a way that I can build a melee caster
I would really like to be decent in melee and able to cast 8/9 lvl spells (not just slots)
I was looking at blade singer but everything I've read is if something does hit you your dead
Suggestions?
Adventure league legal please
I'm fairly new to 5e used to 3.5 so tips / reasons why are really helpful
Thanks to all in advance
Chewy

Reshy
2016-10-19, 03:23 AM
I would really like to be decent in melee and able to cast 8/9 lvl spells (not just slots)
I was looking at blade singer but everything I've read is if something does hit you your dead
Suggestions?
Thanks to all in advance
Chewy

Paladin 8 + Bard 12 is what I'm using. Paladin 6/Bard 14 gets 9th level spells and a ton of goodies. You get the ability to turn spell slots into additional damage on a melee strike, paladin resistances, charisma to saves, and if you chose Oath of the Ancients you get spell resistance as an aura (costs you your 9ths though).

Eldritch Knight is a mishmash of caster and fighter, probably the most interesting to do with a fighter, mind.

Bard in general is a pretty decent class, Valor bard can be a melee combatant pretty well.

Arkhios
2016-10-19, 03:30 AM
Paladin 6/Bard 14 only gets 7th level spells known, but 9th level spell slots.

A full Valor Bard with a cap of 16 levels might be the way to go for you.
It nets you 8th level spells known and spell slots both, and can perform reasonably well in melee.

Str 10, Dex 15+1, Con 13+1, Int 8, Wis 10, Cha 15+1
vHuman with +1 dex, +1 cha, and Resilient Con +1 would be a safe bet to go with.

Next feat you'll definitely want is either War Caster if you prefer sword & board or Medium Armor Master for AC 18 with Half-Plate (medium armor). Or both, with subsequent levels (4th: War Caster, 8th: Medium Armor Master)

Either way you'd be best wielding rapier as your weapon.

Chewychunga
2016-10-19, 05:22 AM