PDA

View Full Version : Adding Barbarian to Sorcadin

Haldir
2016-10-20, 11:20 AM
We've decided to start a second campaign with level 3 characters, and being as I've been doing this D&D thing for a billion years, i decided to play something i have never done before- a blaster caster.

Kurai is a level 3 Red Dragon sorceror with exclusively fire based spells and the Elemental Adept feat.

Let me tell you something, I hate blasters. The idea that a spell can go off on a single action and vanish from the game after doing a smidge of damage disgusts me, but I'm giving it a try anyway.

For roleplay and Armor Class reasons, i want to add barbarian to the traditional Pal6/Sorc6 mix.

At what point in the game would the playground recomend doing this?

Biggstick
2016-10-20, 11:32 AM
Umm...never.

Adding Barbarian doesn't really bring anything to the class.

I mean, I guess Rage will help if you're using Medium Armor. Reckless Attack is great, but it requests you to grant advantage to enemies to hit you. One of the biggest things a Sorcadin does is rock a base 21 AC with the ability to spam Shield for 26 AC (Or rock Shield of Faith for 23 'base' AC and Shield spam for 28 AC). Barbarians kit is built around taking the hits, not dodging the hits.

I'm curious why you want to specifically Barbarian levels compared to more Paladin levels.

DeAnno
2016-10-20, 11:53 AM
Part of playing a blaster is that by their nature they are very all or nothing; you want to dedicate a ton of resources to blasting if you do it so it's actually effective. This is part of why you see so many Warlock 2/Sorc X builds, so they can quicken a damage spell and then also hit with cantrip eldritch blast on the same turn.

If you play something as a half blaster you are probably going to have a bad time blasting and affirm your opinion that blasters are bad.

RulesJD
2016-10-20, 01:32 PM