PDA

View Full Version : Friendly Advice Learning to Make Games - What Degree Should I Seek?

Grey Watcher
2016-11-13, 03:18 PM
OK, so trying to make a career change: I've been a musician, I'm currently an administrative assistant. I have a very passing acquaintance with coding and UI design. I basically know nothing.

Thing is, I want to learn to make video games. I know there are myriad disciplines within that: programming, level design, UI design, character design, etc.

So, what I want some help with is this: if I go back to school for a second bachelor's degree, what sorts of programs should I look for? I know some (usually for-profit) schools have programs that are explicitly about "video game design". But assuming a given college or university I'm looking at doesn't have an "video game design and development" program, what should I be looking for?

If it helps any, I probably want to be less on the visual end of things: so more programming or level design end of things. Though learning to build and use 3D models does have its appeal as well, and might be more readily marketable in some other field.

Just generally, any thoughts or suggestions people have about any of this, or even just some Socratic Q&A to better define what I'm looking for would all be helpful.

Thanks in advance.

Razade
2016-11-13, 03:24 PM
It depends. When you say "I want to make video games" what do you mean by that? Do you mean you want to write the code? Do the art? Do you want to work for a Triple A studio, people who make Dragon Age and Bioshock, or do you want to go it alone or with some friends and make an Indie game like Binding of Isaac. What exactly do you want to do in the "Make a Video Game" process. You already know music, you (I assume) can do your own Foley work. That alone could get you some hands on work with actual small studios if you market yourself.

You need to provide more information really.

Grey Watcher
2016-11-13, 05:51 PM