PDA

View Full Version : Opinions, can this work?

CyberWyld
2007-07-13, 08:40 PM
Hello there, I'm new to the forums and glad that I was directed here. This seems to be a nice collection of fellow geeks. :) I have been playing D&D with my current group for 3 years now and we are really a lucky group. We all get along very good. Okay so on to the thread purpose.

I pride myself on making "cool characters" over ones that are amazingly powerful or hell...even useful. :P My current idea for a character is that of a Divine archer. (Same thing as an Arcane Archer but uses Divine spells) Initially I had decided I was going to use a longbow...but here recently I've been looking at dual wielding pistol style repeater crossbows. The inspiration for this would be an old west gunfighter. I've spoken with my DM about it and he's even suggested tweaking the crossbows a bit so that the support front side of the crossbow collapses and fights into a hip holster. Combine with the divine archer abilities I think this character would not only be "cool" but very useful in combat. Any suggestions on the build...or feats I should take? I've got a rough idea, but I'm curious as to what other D&D folks think. I'm sure most of you are far more noligable then myself. Thanks for your help in advance.

hasta

Magi_Ring_O
2007-07-13, 08:53 PM
Where did you even find a Divine Archer PrC?

Borogove
2007-07-13, 08:56 PM
All repeating crossbows need two hands to load, unfortunately. So you should probably talk to your gm about that, too.

Edit: actually, scratch that. The core rules don't contain repeating hand crossbows, so either they're in a supplement, in which case I have no idea what the rules for them are, or they're going to be completely home-brewed, in which case it doesn't matter.

CyberWyld
2007-07-13, 09:01 PM