PDA

View Full Version : AD&D 2nd Ed Hit Point Ranges for Dragons

VoxRationis
2016-11-30, 09:56 PM
I'm writing a system for AD&D that involves revamped dragons. Much smaller and weaker than the norm for D&D, these dragons are supposed to be mounts for the elite (fulfilling a role vaguely akin to that of chariots) rather than army-stomping god-creatures. I want them to be tough enough that level 1 parties would consider them a fight not to be taken head-on, but weak enough that you can't just plow one into a mass of infantry (or a corps of archers) and expect to come out ahead. I have very little experience with AD&D and no experience creating novel monsters for it, so I'd like some help here. Anyone got a good idea of appropriate AC and HP for such a beast? (They will have spell resistance, just in case one normally figures that into the equation.)

Knaight
2016-11-30, 10:55 PM
There's a pretty big range covered here, so lets get to specifics. Are the breath weapons still there? When you say smaller, what is the actual size you're thinking of? Do you want something just a bit more dangerous than a horse? Substantially nastier than an elephant? The chariot role could be interpreted either as just a mounts for elites bit, as being essentially inferior cavalry or as being where chariots were against otherwise infantry armies where the baseline is instead mixed infantry and cavalry.

LibraryOgre
2016-12-01, 11:10 AM
I'd lean towards about 6 HD, with an AC of about 2-0. From there, I'd look at available dragons and find one that meets that, and just use it as a baseline. An Age category 2 White Dragon might be a good baseline to start from.

VoxRationis
2016-12-01, 09:18 PM