PDA

View Full Version : Building a Character for Curse of Strahd - Crossbow Paladin

John Coake
2017-01-11, 02:01 PM
So, I'm taking part in an online Curse of Strahd campaign, and I'm playing a Paladin. I'm kinda new to 5e, I want to hear suggestions on what Oath I should choose, what spells I should take, what feat choices would be good to take, etc. Now I really wanna use a Crossbow/Bow(falls in line with backstory), so I'd prefer if people would avoid suggesting alternate weapons, unless its absolutely necessary for me to use a different weapon(I really Really REALLY don't care about optimization, I just want suggestions). I'm also wanting to go more Damage than Healing, so I'd like to see more suggestions in line with that.

jaappleton
2017-01-11, 02:06 PM
Nearly all your Smite abilities require you to use a Melee weapon.

So your key class feature that makes a Paladin a Paladin? The key do damage for the class? Doesn't really work.

So... Want to hear the fixes?

John Coake
2017-01-11, 02:07 PM
Nearly all your Smite abilities require you to use a Melee weapon.

So your key class feature that makes a Paladin a Paladin? The key do damage for the class? Doesn't really work.

So... Want to hear the fixes?

Okay, that's a big issue that no one made me aware of. So please, I'm all ears.

jaappleton
2017-01-11, 02:20 PM
Okay, that's a big issue that no one made me aware of. So please, I'm all ears.

It's OK. I myself am guilty of reading lines a little too fast, getting a concept going, and then realizing it doesn't work. :smallbiggrin:

The idea of a holy warrior wielding a Crossbow absolutely evokes a sort of Van Hellsing sort of feeling, which totally rules for a CoS campaign.

There's a few ways to still get that. Most of them involve talking with your DM.