PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinder How exactly do you build a Barbarian as a Grappler?

Linken
2017-01-13, 06:31 AM
I'm making a merfolk barbarian/bard gestalt in a campaign that's coming up. 18 Strength, 14 dexterity, 15 constitution, 16 charisma. I want her to be able to grapple well, but I don't know exactly how- I've never built a grappler before. Harpoon proficiency? A swap of the Bard gestalt to something else? I'm open to any ideas.

Hiro Quester
2017-01-13, 06:41 AM
High strength, ability to increase your size (enlarge person) and improved grapple feat would be a good start.

Ability to cast freedom of movement, or Heart of Water that can be discharged as a swift action to get freedom of movement, would also be useful.

Unfortunately, of those spells, only FoM is on the bard list.

Bards do get UMD as a class skill. So a wand of enlarge person would be useful (give it to your party wizard until you have enough UMD to use it yourself).

Linken
2017-01-13, 06:44 AM
High strength, ability to increase your size (enlarge person) and improved grapple feat would be a good start.

Ability to cast freedom of movement, or Heart of Water that can be discharged as a swift action to get freedom of movement, would also be useful.

Unfortunately, of those spells, only FoM is on the bard list.

Bards do get UMD as a class skill. So a wand of enlarge person would be useful (give it to your party wizard until you have enough UMD to use it yourself).

Well, more what I mean is this: can I use weapons while grappling?

So, I grapple, succeed. Next turn, can I attack using a one-handed weapon? For instance, a scizor? Or can I maintain the grapple and attack?

Also, maybe I could just go something like Sorcerer, instead.

Hiro Quester
2017-01-13, 10:21 AM
One Level of Monk will get you some useful goodies here: Improved Unarmed Strike and Improved Grapple both as bonus feats.