PDA

View Full Version : New DM needs help!

Epicsakura101
2017-01-18, 03:32 PM
I'm new to DMing and I need some advice. I'm trying to run a Pathfinder campaign using the "Carrion Crown" adventure path (starts with "the Haunting of Harrowstone"). The group consists of a catfolk inquisitor (who never shows up), an undine Druid, a sorceress (I don't remember her race, but she gets divine stuff) and a dwarf cleric that I'm running as a placeholder for if someone else joins. The Druid is a newb and the rest of us have at least some experience playing in the past.

The adventure looks like a lot of fun, but they're not supposed to enter the dungeon until they're about level 2, and they need to learn a few things through research before they should go on.

The problem with that is the fact that my party has no backbone. They all want to follow someone else. The result is my having to drop a million hints and practically drag them around by the ears. Not to mention none of them have any knowledge local or history (the checks needed to learn the stuff they need).

Then there's the adventure that wants to pile several different time limit factors, one of the which is this weird "trust point" system used to determine their relationship with the town. The adventure guide tells me all sorts of ways their total goes down, but precious little on how it goes up. If it gets too low they get run out of town by an angry mob and loose... Like, they entire adventure is failed.

How should I deal with this? I would highly appreciate any help you guys can give me.

Thanks! :)

Geddy2112
2017-01-18, 03:41 PM
The dwarf cleric does not have history? Does the town have access to a library or other ways to gather information? (not super familiar with the AP)