PDA

View Full Version : Player Help Need Advice to Kill Boss

kyle2270
2017-01-20, 01:47 AM
My first post, I will ask for forgiveness up front for any mistakes I may make. Please bear with me.
Need advice on killing the Boss, (actually 2nd in command) He has a magic item that sucks up spells cast upon him, at least 75 levels, he has another magic item that sucks up any hp that is dealt to him, 100+. We fought him once and this is how I know. And to top it off, not sure what it is but he was dead but did not have his soul in him and is now back. He pretty much cut up a 30th level fighter into 5 pieces in one attack at another encounter we witnessed at lower levels.
My group consists of Cleric 20th lvl, druid 23 lvl, wizard 14, paladin 13, monk 13, dwarven fighter 23, Rogue/Sorcerer 10/13.
We pretty much play core spells in 3.5 rule set.
Keep in mind, I am fairly new to this game played 25 yrs ago. I have never been this high level.
The question is what is best course of action to slay him if and when he is confronted face to face. Is it cast anti-magic field and just gang tackle to eliminate those powerful magic items??
Thanks ahead of time for any and all advice given

Eldariel
2017-01-20, 06:06 AM
75 levels? That sounds excessive. Then again, without epic rules that doesn't really amount to much more than bigger numbers. That level spread in the party is also quite ridiculous. Either way, items like that tend to have limits on how many spell levels/HP they can drain. Most items can be disabled through the use of targeted Dispel Magic so disabling them would be an option for killing him. Note, targeting the item not the caster means the spell won't be absorbed, at least by a default Rod of Absorption. Trying to get them into an Antimagic Field might work too - however, there are numerous ways for them to avoid that. However, it might be the items are above and beyond that power level - if the enemy is really level 75, owning such artifacts would be to be expected.