PDA

View Full Version : 3.5 Barbarian Questions

Curtisw2000
2017-01-24, 11:13 PM
So I'm still very new to playing D&D so I have some specific questions about a barbarian I'm thinking of creating. I'm not sure if they are good questions or complete newb questions. Basically I'm just looking for any thoughts on them. We're doing a character building session this weekend to start a 3.5e game and I've been thinking about ideas I might like to try.

Question #1
Dual Wielding Barbarian... good idea or horrible idea?
Traditionally I think of a barbarian as wielding a single giant weapon and dealing out tons of damage with said weapon; but what if it wasn't like that. What if he (or she) was using 2 weapons in those massively strong arms? So would this be an option worth exploring? Does anyone have experience with it? Thoughts in general are all appreciated.

Question #2
(Assuming it isn't a waste) What weapons should I use?
What would be good options if one decided the path of a Dual Wielding Barbarian? Should they be a matched set? Or should you try to mix up the type (like doing a slashing with a bludgeoning or something)?

Question #3
What about wielding a single large weapon?
Kind of completely opposite idea; what if you take Monkey Grip as your first feat and wield a large sized greataxe? The Player's Manual gives the damage of a large 1d12 weapon (when medium sized) as 3d6. To me (again the inexperienced guy) that sounds like a reasonable trade off for the -2 to hit you'd suffer. But I wanted some other opinions on this. Has anyone tried it? Would a DM normally allow that (for a lvl 1)?

I'm really looking for any feedback on all of these questions. Pros/Cons or just general thoughts. Anything is appreciated.

Doctor Despair
2017-01-24, 11:17 PM