PDA

View Full Version : Any way to get a player to be more serious?

PhantomVector
2017-01-26, 01:14 PM
So I'm pretty new to DnD mostly because I haven't really found a group yet that plays in my area. But I've been on and off for a while now. But it ends up with me not being sure how to handle this, or perhaps not being able to understand if I'm overreacting.

On to the title question, recently I've got a few good friends together who were interested in playing and said I'd DM for them. The problem is one of them while interested, isn't...very serious, like at all. We usually get along alright but having spent at this point a couple weeks working on this campaign I've gotten a little...Peeved at him about how he makes doesn't seem to well take anything really seriously. Like he wanted to be a doomsday prepper or batman when I asked him what kind of character he wanted to play. Before he settled for a Robin Hood type character. Feels like he is disrespecting the time I've put in to try and make an interesting campaign and world. I realize stuff can go off the rails pretty quick but I as I said it just felt disrepesctful at the time. The campaign isn't going to be deadly serious 24/7 but there is a general storyline to follow.

Am I just overreacting? If not, or if it actually becomes a problem what should I do? I don't want to kick him out, not mention were all good friends and I don't know how well that would fly. I've talked to him a little and explained that it felt like he was disrespecting me and he's sobered up a bit but I'm just at a bit of a lost at what to do if it continues.

Is there anyway to engage him IC before having to pull him aside or worse be forced to either kick him out, or shut the game down?

Beans
2017-01-26, 01:19 PM