PDA

View Full Version : Your opinion about Magic of Incarnum

danielxcutter
2017-02-04, 08:36 PM
Inspired by the thread about ToB.

Vaz
2017-02-04, 08:43 PM
One of the most fun susbsystems to date. It is also a really good reason to bring a stash of Jelly Beans or Pistachios to a game.

Incarnates are one of my favourite classes. Only complaint is that it's not multiclass friendly and so my DM allows a Half Progression style advancement like Tome of Battle.

theonesin
2017-02-04, 08:44 PM
I'm not very experienced or knowledgeable with the system, but I really like the concept of it. Sadly from what I understand, it's underpowered and the book is written terribly.

My interest got me to convince my current DM to run Pathfinder, so I could try out the new Akashic Mysteries sourcebook(Incarnum re-imagined for PF). I'm not far along with my character, but I'm digging it so far.

Razade
2017-02-04, 08:49 PM
The book is so very badly written and the system doesn't gel at all well with any other system much like all the other alt-magic systems 3.5 introduced late in its run like True Naming. It's also pretty bad balance wise. In a game with few magical items though, it might be a lot of fun.

Nifft
2017-02-04, 08:56 PM
Fun system, which I allowed.

It needed some house-rules to be competitive with ToB.

IIRC it also needed some effects re-written due to unclear language, but I don't have that list in front of me.

Also, the Soulborn should be thrown away or re-written entirely.

Coidzor
2017-02-04, 08:56 PM
Neat concept, really terrible editing and organization.

Big Fau
2017-02-04, 09:02 PM
The book is so very badly written and the system doesn't gel at all well with any other system much like all the other alt-magic systems 3.5 introduced late in its run like True Naming. It's also pretty bad balance wise. In a game with few magical items though, it might be a lot of fun.

Truenaming works with anything? That's news to me.