PDA

View Full Version : Could you please help a noob?

I see nothing
2017-02-05, 06:55 PM
Hello everyone I am really new to DnD 3.5 for more then just a one shot or a very limited session number. And I am trying to play a musical based bard, and I was wondering of any good build paths that anyone could recommend? Thanks!

WbtE
2017-02-05, 08:04 PM
You probably don't need to turn up with an awesome build. Bard is relatively forgiving and the rest of the group should be prepared to cut you some slack.

The main thing to do is to check what the rest of the group is doing, and make sure your character either complements them (e.g. bow-wielding bard along with a group of heavily-armored front-line types) or fits in with them (e.g. sneaky bard along with a group of rogue and rangers).

ATHATH
2017-02-05, 09:14 PM
Ok, first, move this to the PF/3.5 section.

Second, what are the rest of the group bringing to the table. Please don't just list classes; try to find out what they're trying to DO with said classes.

Finally, how new is the rest of the group to 3.5?

Here's a nice handbook for you: http://www.minmaxboards.com/index.php?topic=8686.0

Pugwampy
2017-02-06, 02:45 AM
I dont think bard class the the best choice for a new guy . A role player or vet gamer are good for handling it .

If you really want to help your friends , have fun and even shine , I would suggest playing a fighter if thats too boring a cleric . Learn the basics first and then change to a bard if you really want to later on .

Arbane
2017-02-06, 02:53 AM
Friends don't let friends play fighters.

Zombimode
2017-02-06, 05:48 AM

Those would be kinda bad, because patronizing, friends.

The Fighter class, like every other class, is a tool. Like with any tool, you have to know how to wield it.

Stealth Marmot
2017-02-06, 07:52 AM
Well the first question we have to ask is, what do you want to do as a bard? By that I mean, what hole are you trying to fill? Also what level are you starting at?