PDA

View Full Version : DM Help When a PC Wants a Race Transplant

jboking
2017-02-13, 07:23 PM
I'm fairly new to being a DM. I've been running a campaign based on Tyranny of Dragons and we've made it about halfway through Rise of Tiamat with a few side-adventures here and there. In the party is a Half-Orc Druid who likes to be the player who disregards civilized courtesies. Well, he took a look into Volo's Guide and decided that he'd much rather be a Firbolg than a Half-Orc because, in his opinion, it fits his characterization better.

When my players made their characters for this campaign, Volo's wasn't available to them and I didn't have the experience to make a custom race just yet. I haven't decided how to rule on his problem. Are there any DMs around here who have dealt with this problem before? Recommendations?

Drackolus
2017-02-13, 07:28 PM
Honestly? I would just go for it.
If you're really concerned about immersion, you can have the player die and get reincarnated by a friendly druid. Hey, things happen.
Really though, that level of railroading may be more of an immersion break than just saying "What? I've been a firbolg the whole time! I'm just ugly. Yeesh.

Idkwhatmyscreen
2017-02-13, 08:03 PM
Half-Orc / Half-Firborg (Easy continuity fix) ( He has just started coming into his Firbolgness)

I mean, I doubt that the Half-Orc's parents have been featured in the campaign yet

Mikey P
2017-02-13, 08:14 PM
I would just go with what you think best.

With the Firborg, you can claim that he's been using his disguise ability to blend in so far... But whatever let him do it 24/7 wore off... Reincarnation, some wild-mage zapped him and he's been polymorphed for years and it just wore off... there are any number of possibilities if you want to rationalize it in game.

What matters here is if you like it for you game or not.

pwykersotz
2017-02-13, 08:14 PM