PDA

View Full Version : Warlock/Bard: the Dark Rocker

sengmeng
2017-02-18, 04:06 PM
So I'm new to 5e and I've always wanted to play a bard, and I see that they are now full casters. I also thought that it would be funny to multiclass warlock and fluff it as selling my soul for musical talent. I kind of want to go with the fiend pact and dip 3 levels to get a familiar from the pact of the chain boon, and have a little imp or quasit to be my drummer (I'll be playing a golden fiddle, of course). What other options could I pick to be more fun/powerful?

retaliation08
2017-02-18, 04:13 PM
I recommend Eldritch Blast. Cast through your instrument, it will melt the faces. All of them.

For evocations, Agonizing Blast, Devil's Sight (if you don't already have darkvision), and Voice of the Chain Master are good.

For spells, I recommend considering some of the Warlock spells that are not on the Bard list to gain more versatility.

Lore Bard is great as a subclass.

EDIT: Hmm, Inspiration and Cutting Words could possibly be used through your familiar with Voice of the Chain master, depending on your DM. Maybe healing word as well?

Sans.
2017-02-18, 04:24 PM
So... it's actually Bard/Warlock? Anyway, I always found multiclassing Bard on, say, Paladin or Sorcerer hard to explain away in backstory. Good job with finding a nice story.

Dudu
2017-02-19, 02:16 AM
Exactly my current char right now, Chuck Hendrix (From Chuck Berry and Jimmy Hendrix).

His Eldritch Blasts are actually cards he throw, Gambit style.

And he is a rocker.

Quoxis
2017-02-19, 03:32 AM
So... it's actually Bard/Warlock? Anyway, I always found multiclassing Bard on, say, Paladin or Sorcerer hard to explain away in backstory. Good job with finding a nice story.

Typically a bard is just a guy learning how to play an instrument in a way that can influence "the weave", usually at a bard's college.
A guy like that sees his family getting murdered and swears to avenge them = Bardladin